Dan Lapp Wins National Championship

Dan Lapp

In 2008, Tompkins Cortland Community College golfer Kris Boyes used a big final day to rally from eight place at the start of the day to win the NJCAA Division III National title in a playoff. Boyes' fantastic finish gave Tompkins Cortland golf its first, and only, national champion. Until now. Ten years after Boyes rallied for his title, Daniel Lapp (Trumansburg/Charles O. Dickerson H.S.) posted the best score of the championship on Friday, extending the one-stroke lead he held entering Friday to a dominating nine-stroke victory.

Lapp carded a 4-under par 68 on Friday, the first time anyone broke 70 during the tournament. His four-round score of 293 was well ahead of the 302 posted by runner-up Bobby Davenport of Mohawk Valley Community College.  

In addition being just the second Panther to win the national title, Lapp is the fourth Tompkins Cortland golfer to earn All-American honors, following Boyes (2008), Clint Chaffee (2005 and 2006), and Kevin Muirhead (1994).


NJCAA Division III National Tournament, Final
Lake Course, Chautauqua Golf Club, Par 72, 6559 Yards

1. Dan Lapp, Tompkins Cortland CC  293 (76-76-73-68)
2. Bobby Davenport, Mohawk Valley CC 302 (78-78-74-72)
3. Mason Landborg, Minnesota State CC 304 (75-77-79-73)
4. Keegan McCullough, Vincennes University (Indiana) 305 (82-72-76-75)
5. Thomas Weir, Delaware County CC (Penn.)  306  (79-74-76-77)
6. Hunter Moen, Minnesota State CC 307 (80-76-74-77)
7. Chris Kraft, Sandhills CC (N.C.) 307 (73-82-71-81)
8. Andrew Gutierrez, Union CC (N.J.) 308 (77-77-79-75)
9. Brady Childers, Sandhills CC (N.C.) 309 (83-77-79-70)
10. Trey May, Georgia Military College 309 (75-75-82-77)