Irizarry and Smith Named All Region

Anthony Irizarry and Nick Smith
Anthony Irizarry and Nick Smith

Two Tompkins Cortland Community College players have earned spots on the NJCAA Region III all-region team after helping the Panthers advance to the District A championship game for the second straight season. In voting by the coaches in the region, Anthony Irizarry (Middletown/Middletown H.S.) and Nick Smith (Cortland H.S./Cortland) were each voted to the second team.

Both were also voted to the Mid-State Athletic Conference all-conference team. Irizarry set new Tompkins Cortland records for points scored in a game and season, the new game record for goals, and the new season record for assists. As a long stick midfielder, Smith was part of a defense that held seven different opponents to single digits in scoring, including three different opponents that were limited to three goals or fewer goals. He also finished among the team leaders groundballs and caused turnovers.

The Panthers finished the 2018 season with a record of 9-4. All four losses came to teams ranked in top ten in the nation, including two to #1-ranked and defending national champion Onondaga Community College. Tompkins Cortland set a program record for winning percentage (.692) and had the longest winning streak in program history (five games).

With Irizarry and Smith being honored, the Panthers have now been represented on the Region III all-region team in five consecutive years and six of the last seven years.



2018 NJCAA Region III Lacrosse All-Region Selections

First Team


Austin Staats- Onondaga
Russ Oakes -Onondaga
James Sexton- Onondaga
Jason Chiodo- Genesee


Zach Pierce - Onondaga
Andrew Forte- Genesee
Peter Kwas- Onondaga
Kevin Mcparlane - Genesee


PJ Delpha -Onondaga
Jerry Staats- Onondaga
Austin Robinson- Onondaga
Donovan Brown- Mercyhurst NE

Frank Delia - Onondaga


Second team


Nick Kallio- Monroe
Anthony Irizarry – Tompkins Cortland
Jordan Brennan - Genesee
Alex Mack- Genesee


Evan Hollifelder - Genesee
Val Britto - Herkimer
Nick Smith - Tompkins Cortland
Brandon Barnhart - Monroe

Mat Anderson - Genesee
Hoya'daiwat Johns - Genesee
Nate Ess - Genesee
Adam Witschber - Monroe


Mark Campbell - Monroe